Embracing Intention: A Holistic Journey of Personal Growth

Kahurangi H
3 min readJan 20, 2024

--

A photo of a dandelion from 2015, my hands are in the bottom of the frame holding the stem. I am wearing purple nail polish

One of my words for the year is ‘intention’. My understanding of the word intention was that it meant I needed to be mindful of my thoughts throughout the day.

On New Year’s Day while rushing through a ritual that involved setting a bay leaf I had written my hopes for the year on fire I realized living intentionally is so much deeper than that.

Yes, intentionality means I need to be mindful of my thoughts and actions, but it also. means I need to present by slowing down and not rushing from task to task.

This can be hard when you have trauma or c-PSTD because for me, my mind was always used to:

  • being on high alert
  • being everywhere all at once
  • jumping from task to task (it might be why I am good at jumping from ideas and word association games,)

This is a big part of why I had;t been able to mediate until recently and why I often had trouble with yoga. It meant I needed to be intentional and for that, I needed to quiet my mind, listen to my body, and avoid powering through to the next pose.

sunset over Kāpiti Island as seen from Ōtaki Beach
sunset over Kāpiti Island as seen from Ōtaki Beach

Something I have found weird is that I knew actively practicing gratitude meant I had to sit and reflect on my day and the things I had, but I had only just realized that a life with intent requires the same amount of mindfulness.

Being intentional isn’t only about doing what I say I’ll do, choosing my words, or showing up for myself — it's deeper than that.

Yes, it requires those things, but I also need to choose how I react and the words I choose, and to decide if a feeling is serving me.

Being intentional is about awareness:

  • awareness of self
  • awareness of others
  • awareness of my actions, thoughts, and the words I speak

It’s also about choosing where I want my energy to go, and about slowing down. I have started doing that by:

  • journalling
  • reframing my thoughts
  • challenging and rewriting the narratives I have believed about myself
  • art — drawing, and painting

This new understanding of intention has affected my life in ways I would have never expected

  • it’s easier to address and manage my emotions, especially when I am upset or angry
  • I have started to eat slowly
  • I don’t mind being alone (I have always found it hard to be alone while in a relationship)
  • I meditate and find it relaxing (I used to find it anxiety-inducing)

Embracing intention brought a shift, that enabled me to deliberately slow down. Through Journaling, reframing my thoughts, and drawing I noticed unexpected changes — improved emotional management and a newfound appreciation for meditation. This holistic journey of self-discovery and personal growth is shared in the hope that it resonates with your path; it’s time for us to rewrite our narratives to empower ourselves 💖

Keep up to date with all things Hasn’t A Clue

--

--

Kahurangi H

An author passionate about personal growth, mindfulness, and spirituality. Join me on a journey of exploration and empowerment! 💖